Difference between revisions of "UNCLOS"

From s121
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 2: Line 2:
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Main Page]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Main Page]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Project Team]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Project Team]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Meetings]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Standard]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Standard]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Implementation]]
| class="s121_tab_inside" | [[Implementation]]

Revision as of 19:09, 24 October 2017

Main Page Project Team Meetings Standard Implementation Exchange Formats Documents UNCLOS S-100

UNCLOS diagram zones

The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), or Law of the Sea Convention, is an international law that defines the rights and responsibilities of nations with respect to their use of the world's oceans. S-121 product definition is a framework based on UNCLOS rights and responsibilities.

International agreement that resulted from the third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS III), which took place between 1973 and 1982. UNLCOS Defines the rights and responsibilities of nations with respect to their use of the world's oceans, establishing guidelines for businesses, the environment, and the management of marine natural resources.

UNCLOS I - 1956

  • Resulted in four treaties concluded in 1958:
  • Convention on the Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zone
  • Convention on the Continental Shelf
  • Convention on the High Seas
  • Convention on Fishing and Conservation of Living Resources of the High Seas

UNCLOS II - 1960

  • Did not lead to any new treaties


  • Introduced a number of provisions setting limits, navigation, archipelagic status and transit regimes, exclusive economic zones (EEZs), continental shelf jurisdiction, deep seabed mining, the exploitation regime, protection of the marine environment, scientific research, and settlement of disputes.

As of May 2017 168 countries have ratified the convention.